SECOND DUI CONCERNS: ARE YOU A REPEAT OFFENDER?
In California if you have been charged with a DUI before in the last ten years then your prior DUI will be used against you and your new DUI will be considered your second DUI. Under California law a second DUI in 10 years makes you a “repeat offender” which is why the penalties are so much more severe than for a a first DUI.
If you were charged for a DUI in the last 10 years but it was reduced to a “wet reckless” it may still count as a prior DUI for all practical purposes. Likewise, if you were convicted of two traffic violations where you lost 2 points each or three traffic violations where you lost 1 point each in the last 12 months you may be designated as an “HABITUAL TRAFFIC OFFENDER” and you may be facing 30 days in jail.
The state of California imposes increasingly more severe penalties for second, third, and fourth DUIs in hopes that they will deter you from drinking, or using drugs, and then driving.
States share information and a DUI conviction in another state in the last 10 years will count as a prior DUI in California.
While it’s possible that your prior DUI in another state may go unnoticed and you are charged with a first DUI, don’t count on it! You need a California Expungementto help you with this. Our attorneys are experts in trying to negotiate a deal, or plea bargain, for you to avoid the “repeat offender” and “enhanced penalties”. Our attorneys often get DUIs dismissed, win “not guilty” verdicts at trials, or get charges reduced to “reckless driving” or other traffic infractions. Since we probably can’t make your prior DUI or prior traffic ticket convictions go away, we can do our best to help you with your new case to make sure you don’t end up with a second DUI conviction.
If you received a DUI, or notice of a DUI DMV hearing, you need quick resolution. To learn more about our firm please call: